1. Home
  2. Patreon
  3. Upgrades and downgrades FAQ

Upgrades and downgrades FAQ

Can I upgrade/downgrade my Patreon tier (edit pledge)?

Yes, but we recommend you to do only it between the 2nd and the 10th of each month.

Why?

When you upgrade to a higher tier you immediately get charged for the difference.

Consider waiting if you want to maximise the value of your new tier during the subscription month.

Consider not upgrading to a higher tier close to the end of the month to prevent getting charged immediately for the new tier. Wait for the 2nd of the month to be safe. Patreon uses Pacific time (not local time).

When is best time to downgrade a tier?

You can downgrade at any time but (there is no refund) the change to the price you pay will not be reflected until your next monthly bill. Patreon won’t return the difference, therefore we recommend that you only do downgrades on the 2nd of each month.

You will retain access to the content of your current tier for the remaining days of the month which is a better idea as you already paid for it.

When is the best time to delete/cancel my subscription to Patreon?

If you want to cancel or delete your subscription we recommend you do it before the last day of the month. Two days before the 1st would be the safest idea. If you don’t do it Patreon will charge you on the 1st 00:00hrs pacific time.

What happens if I delete my subscription before the end of the month, for example on the 15th? you will lose access to the articles and some benefits. We recommend you keep it so you can still use it the rest of the month.

Patreon documentation

All these rules are part of how Patreon works. This document is just a recommendation based on how we have observed you could benefit better from the subscription.

For a fully detail explanation of this you can check out the Patreon help page.

For your reference TTP Patreon page uses up-front billing.

Updated on March 1, 2021

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Leave a Comment